top of page

115 days in Southeast Asia | ١١٥ يوم في جنوب شرق آسيا


After a train ride, two bus rides, two flights and a total travel time of 36 hours, I'm back home... I'm not going to get philosophical about the 'home' part now. There was a brief moment during those 36 hours (while watching a sad movie and questioning why I chose it), I fully realized that I did it! Looking back at when I was choosing the date of my return flight and questioning if I will be able to handle 4 months on my own away from everything that is familiar to me. And now that I've done it, I feel like I received some sort of a shiny medal with a badass unicorn on it. Despite my clumsiness, how indecisive I can be and how great I am at not following plans, I went on discovering bits and pieces of four countries, not certain what's next and making decisions for every step that sometimes my brain felt as if it's going to crack my skull open and run away. Should this city be next or that one? Which route shall I take? How many stops? Train or bus? Do trains even go that way? Adjusting to the basic vocabulary of each country; saying Kop koon kaa to thank someone in Thailand, then in Cambodia it's Okun?! Really, just that?! Seemed too short for a while as if there is something else I should be saying. And don't even get me started on having an Egyptian bank card while traveling. It was insane to have saved up money that you worked hard for and not being able to access a dime! That dilemma that made me change my route and almost ended my journey from the first month. But even that problem created good memories as I was lucky enough to be able to count on people who were strangers at first then became awesome friends, thanks to them and Paypal (with shitty transaction fees) I got through that.

من أكتر من أربع شهور، وأنا بحجز التذكرة وبحدد تاريخ العودة وبسأل نفسي لو فعلًا هقدر استحمل ٤ شهور بعيد عن كل حاجة الواحد متعود عليها، ومش عارفة إيه اللي ممكن يبقى مستنيني. صحيح مش أول سفرية

ليا بس دي أول سفرية لفترة طويلة كده.

بالرغم من التوهان اللي أنا دايما عايشة فيه وقلة التنظيم في معظم حياتي (حياتي كلها يا ماما حاضر) والحيرة اللي معيشة نفسي فيه حتى وأنا بختار آيس كريم، سافرت ولفلفت في 4 بلاد في جنوب شرق آسيا، ابتديت بتايلاند فسح وأكل كتير (كتير بزيادة)، على أماكن اتطوعت فيها زي السينما، اللي قضيت فيها ٣ أسابيع في كمبوديا.

بعدين عديت على السريع على ماليزيا، وقضيت آخر شهر في إندونيسيا، اللي ختمت بيها المغامرة، لما طلعت بركان “إيچين” المشهور بالنار الزرقا، اللي تلحقها بالليل بعد أكتر من ساعتين طلوع، وانت لابس ماسك Darth Vaderعشان الغاز اللي طالع من البركان، فيحسسك إنك قلبت على

صحيح في أوقات كنت حاسة إن دماغي يا هتنفجر يا إما مخي هيفتح الباب ويهرب من كتر ما الواحد بيفكر في الخطوة اللي جاية ويوصل المدينة الفلانية إزاي، طب باص ولا قطر؟، طب لو رحت هناك هلحق أزور المكان ده؟، يستاهل ولا السياحة دمرته؟، طب هي الميزانية وصلت كام دلوقتي؟، إيه ده هو كارت البنك مش شغال ليه؟، تعليمات البنك المركزي؟! طب وأنا يا مصر؟!، المشكلة دي لوحدها كانت هتقطع السفرية من أول شهر لولا اللي آه خسرني حبة فلوس بس السفرية كِملت Paypal إن الواحد اتكعبل في ناس جدعة مع

Though not everything I was hoping for happened, hence being back in Cairo and absolutely having no idea what I'm doing back here, I'll focus on documenting the journey on my blog before my brain does what it does best at forgetting how my days went. I'm also truly blessed for my parents who awfully worry about me, don't even let me go to Alexandria on my own by train but didn't stop my venturing to another continent. My mom was happily following my location on the map anyways thanks to Apple, sent me screenshots and told me how many restaurants and facilities are around me. A promise to myself: The next time I go back to Southeast Asia it will be on a motorcycle. Maybe also a longer period? Who knows.

صحيح الواحد كان متفائل بزيادة ومعرفتش أهرب ورجعت القاهرة ولسه مش عارفة أنا بعمل إيه، وصحيح الواحد اتنازل عن حاجات كتير عشان الـ٤ شهور دول يحصلوا، بس اللي شفته فيهم أكتر بكتير سواء حلو ومش متوقع أو حتى الوِحِش، الواحد مكانش متخيل إنه هيمر بيه، بس مفيش حاجة تخلي الواحد يندم، وقبل ما ذاكرتي تنسي التفاصيل هكمل كتابة المواقف اللي مكانتش هتعدي عليا غير لما احتكيت بالناس وبعدت عن المفاهيم والكلام اللي دايمًا بسمعه من غير ما أكون شوفته بنفسي.

واه رحلة زي دي حصل قبلها حبة نقاشات طويلة مع الأهل، خصوصًا إن مامتي مش بتوافق على سفري لإسكندرية بالقطر لوحدي، بس موقفتش في طريق تجربتي في قارة تانية (سجدة شكر) وكانت دايمًا متبعاني (أو لمكاني وبتقولي هلاقي محلات إيه حوالياscreenshots مراقباني) على الخريطة وتروح بعتالي

.

!وزيارتي لجنوب شرق آسيا المرة الجاية لازم تكون على موتوسيكل

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page